New Chapter, New Librarian

I recently began a new job as a Librarian in a new library. I am currently still in the adjustment period and trying to learn everything that I can and need too. My new co-workers have been extremely nice and helpful.

I am hoping that at some point I will be able to feel my way into programming. At the moment the youth aspect of programming is already held by two others and I definitely am not looking to step on any toes (since recently I know how frustrating that can be). I have offered my assistance and I am hoping it will be taken. For now it has been mentioned to me that adult programming is needed and since I’m not big on adult programming and do not know much about it (I’m a big kid) it’s going to take a bit more, but it is needed and I can’t take for granted an opportunity (hopefully).

For now I still have my job as a Librarian Associate at my home library, but have significantly lowered my hours. Mostly I am ordering teen fiction and adult nonfiction, doing the Art Hop, the Second Sunday, and doing what I can for the Summer Reading (but that is affected by the toe stepper on).

It’s a new chapter and I’m curious to see where this will lead me. Although I can say I am excited for my first paycheck :).

Leave a Reply

